We offer in-company training

ICTC can help organisations such as Child and Adolescent Mental Health teams, Residential facilities, Foster Care organizations, and Child Protection Services to implement trauma-informed and trauma-focused treatment with the Sleeping Dogs method. After implementations, organisations become certified as Trauma Focused Sleeping Dogs Organizations.

Training Pathway

The pathway to become accredited as a Trauma-Focused Sleeping Dogs organisation is competency-based and consist of three or four levels:

• Workshop Sleeping Dogs level I
• Workshop Sleeping Dogs level II
• Workshop Sleeping Dogs level III
• Workshop Sleeping Dogs level IV

The workshops can be combined with supervision or method-training sessions.

The Sleeping Dogs level I workshop provides an introduction to the method and the interventions. The content of level II, III and IV workshops is adapted to the context in which clinicians work and their role. For family therapists, for example, the focus is mostly on systemic conversations with parents and families, while for psychologists who work with children individually, the focus is more on using the Sleeping Dogs-tool to analyze the child’s barriers and plan treatment. For caseworkers, the focus is more on motivating families and referring children to trauma treatment. For staff working with  children in our of home care, the focus is more on the interventions that can be used with the foster family or by the residential staff, and collaboration with and positioning of the biological parents is an important issue. Organisations can create their own customised training program by choosing from the following modules or developing their own modules

Basic modules

• Treatment plans
• Taking children on trauma
• Motivating children
• Stabilization of children and preparation for trauma treatment
• Support for traumatized parents
• Systemic conversation with perpetrator parents by recognition

Specific modules

• Creating good enough security and security planning.
• Treatment plans in challenging cases
• Writing trauma healing stories
• Sexual abuse
• Denial / disputed abuse
• Care failure
• Dissociation
• Trauma-informed safety planning
• Sleeping Dogs in foster families
• Anger and aggression
• Cases where sexual abuse / secrets are suspected
• Domestic violence
• Therapeutic attitude
• Suicidal behavior, self-harm and shame
• Dissociative disorders
• Trauma treatment with children with an intellectual disability
• Treatment of preverbal trauma and young children

Certified organizations

Organisations can also become certified as a Trauma-focused Sleeping Dogs Organisation.

The ICTC can assist organizations such as residential facilities, Foster Care, Child Protection or Mental Health Services with implementing trauma-informed and trauma-focused treatment with the Sleeping Dogs method or develop a customised implementation package of training and supervision and practice.

What they say

Kompaan en de Bocht, Residental and Foster Care